Coweta County Schools

  • Full Screen
  • Wide Screen
  • Narrow Screen
  • Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Contact: Dean Jackson Office of Public Information
Phone: 770.254.2736
Fax: 770.254.2807

Lee Middle School Math Team wins 5th 1st place win at regional MATHCOUNTS competition

Lee Middle School’s Math Team took first place at the regional MATHCOUNTS competition, held at the University of West Georgia on February 10th, earning a spot at the state finals.

It was the fourth consecutive 1st place finish for the school. The team, consisting of Sun Moon, Hyungjoon Jun, Matthew Nix, Minji Kang, Nathan White, Andrew Brown, Michael An, Mary Miller, Lyong-kyong McDonald and Grant Daniel, competed against the 40 students of the school’s math club to earn their spots on the competition team.

Of the 110 students at the regional competition, Minji Kang took home the top honors as 1st place Individual Competitor with the highest total score.

The competition consisted of three rounds, including sprint (testing quickness to solve problems), target (testing problem-solving skills) and team (testing teamwork abilities). MATHCOUNTS also included a high-pressure countdown round where competitors had to solve mathematics problems in 45 seconds or less, without a calculator and before a fellow competitor gave the correct answer. The top 8 finishers compete in this round. Three of the top 8 finishers came from the Lee Middle School team including Kang, Matthew Nix and Hyungjoon Jun. Jun took home 2nd place in the countdown round.

Jun, Nix Kang and Sun Moon will travel to Georgia Tech on March 20 to compete as the West Georgia Region’s Team at the State Level Competition. Teammates Mary Miller and Andrew Brown finished strongly as well and will travel with them as West Georgia Individual Competitors. Brown is the first 6th grade student at lee to have qualified for the state level of this competition.

Lee Math Counts winners

The Lee Middle School Math Team MATHCOUNTS regional winners include, left to right, front row, Mary Miller, Matthew Nix, Nathan White, Lyong-kyong McDonald, Minji Kang, back row Sun Moon, Hyungjoon Jun, Michael An, Andrew Brown, and Grant Daniel.‚Äč