Determination of Eligibility

Eligibility Checklists - the checklist below are resources created by Coweta County's Special Education Department in conjunction with the state rules to be used in regards to eligibility requirements and criteria for each eligibility area considered. 


Deaf/Hard of Hearing

Emotional Behavior Disorder (EBD)

Intellectual Disabled (MID, MOID, SID, PID)

Orthopedically Impaired (OI)

Other Health Impaired (OHI)

Significantly Developmentally Delayed (SDD)

Specific Learning Disability (SLD)

Speech/Language Impairment

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI)

Visual Impairment  

Evaluation Areas Required for Each Eligibility Area - refer to the chart on this link that indicates the categories and summaries of evaluation/assessments required for each eligibility area. Also refer to each eligibility area in the rules and/or on each checklist above. 

Eligibility Areas/Criteria Quick Reference Guide


GADOE State Rules - click here to link to the state rules.


GADOE Eligibility Implementation Manual - click here to link to the GADOE implementation manual. Click part II of the manual for the specifics regarding eligibility criteria for each area.